The Student Teacher curriculum consists of 500 hours as required by the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology & Hairstyling. Our course encompasses and provides hands-on trainings in all aspects of educator-training.
Artistic Academy strives to provide quality education that prepares students to pass the state board examination, become properly licensed and perform duties required by the license and to secure employment at entry level.
INSTRUCTIONAL TECHNIQUES AND METHODS
The Student Teacher education is provided through structured and sequential learning objectives in preparation for the State Board Exam. During the 500 hour program, students will engage in observations, practice teaching, and instruction in lesson planning and teaching methodology.
STUDENT TEACHER PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURES
Written and practical exams and clinical practical work are all graded on a 0-100% basis. In order to maintain a satisfactory level of achievement at Artistic Academy, a student must maintain a 75% or C average as a minimum passing standard set forth on the State Board Exam. Practical exams have several components assessed and cumulative grade for each practical must meet a minimum of 75% to be deemed as passing. Students may re-take a failed exam one time for a higher score. The average of the two exam scores will be the standing score for that exam. All assessments are expected to be taken as scheduled. If a student is absent during initial exam, they will be expected to take the exam immediately upon their return. If a student is absent for more than 2 days with a verified doctor's note, their educator may schedule the re-take within one week of the student's return. Failure to take the exam within one week of the original date will result in a "0."
|Grading Scale:||A = 95%-100%||B = 85%-94%||C = 75-84%||Failing = Below 75%|
NEW JERSEY STATE LAW REQUIREMENTS
The New Jersey state law requires that students meet specific requirements to receive a New Jersey Cosmetology License.
- Hold a current NJ State Cosmetology License
- Completion of a state-approved 500 hour teaching course
- Completion of 30 clock hours in “Methods of Teaching”
- 6 months work experience in a NJ licensed shop
- Have a high school diploma or GED
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Pay the required licensing fees: $39.00 Examination fee for written portion/PSI Exam, $50.00 Examination fee for practical portion, $45.00 – 1 year license fee* or $90.00 – 2 year license fee*
(*Licensing fees determined by date of graduation and NJ State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling licensing cycle.)
- Take and pass the Written Examination and State Board Practical
Please note: If you have been arrested, charged, or convicted for a violation of any law or regulation Artistic Academy of will require specific documentation from the student. While a conviction does not preclude the student from enrolling in a program it may impact upon their ability to become licensed. Furthermore, should the State Board of Cosmetology & Hairstyling determine you may not apply for licensure, student will remain obligated for tuition and fees as outlined on the enrollment agreement.
As with other professions, physical demands are placed upon you. In accommodating clientele, you may have to stand long hours and/or be standing on your feet all day.
Student Teaching Course
Full Time Day Schedule
|9:00 am to 3:30 pm Monday - Friday||30 hours per week||Tuition||$6,650.00|
|4 Months to complete||16 weeks||Books, Equipment, Taxes||$2,270.00|
|Initial Deposit (includes $100 registration fee*)||$800.00|
|4 Consecutive Payments of||$2,055.00 per month|
*$700.00 Balance of the initial deposit is applied towards tuition. The $700.00 initial depositis refunded if the applicant does not start classes.
*Please note other costs include student uniforms and licensing/exam fees which are approximately $230.00.
Acceptable Methods of Payment - Money Order, Cash or Check (payable to "The Artistic Academy of Hair Design")